2 - 1
Harry Gwala
05/04/2019 20:00

Related News

Related Club News

Absa Premiership match report Maritzburg United v Bloemfontein Celtic 05 April 2019

Posted: 5 April 2019 Time: 18:26

Maritzburg United kept their survival bid alive in the Absa Premiership with a come-from-behind victory over Bloemfontein Celtic on Friday evening.

Maritzburg’s starting components saw the return of Siphesihle Ndlovu, Brian Onyango, Miguel Timm and Mohau Mokate, while Celtic employed a drastic approach, with Mzwanele Mahashe, Neo Maema, Ryan De Jongh, Menzi Masuku and Ndumiso Mabena coming in after their Nedbank Cup exit.

Maritzburg struggled to get out of the earlier starting blocks and nearly suffered a set back on 10 minutes after Mabena rattled the post from a tight angle.

Siwelele were pushed back after 37 minutes, as goalkeeper Patrick Tignyemb swept Fortune Makaringe’s cross-cum shot into touch as the home side upped the tempo.

With no changes during halftime, Celtic went in front five minutes from resumption through a tap-in from Menzi Masuku after a fast-pace counter-attack.

Maritzburg coach Eric Tinkler responded with his first change off the bench as Alan Kateregga came on for an in-effective Ndlovu on 54 minutes.

Celtic posed another threat as Maema raced through on goal following a through ball on 58 minutes, but from an inviting position, the youngster failed to profit.

After relentless probing, the Team of Choice were level 10 minutes to the end through Alan Kateregga’s first-time volley inside the area that wrong-footed Tignyemb.

The Pietermaritzburg side completed the turnaround on 87 minutes, as Kateregga sent a fine superb strike into the top corner from 20-yards to complete his brace in the process.

The win moves Tinkler's troops to within just a point of Baroka FC and Chippa United, while Celtic remain in eighth spot.


Maritzburg: Ofori, Kunene, Xulu, De Reuck, Onyango, Makaringe, Timm, Mokate, Shandu, Ndlovu, Kutumela.

Subs: Mpandle,  Figareido, Matsi, Zakri, Kateregga, Moseamedi, Farmer.

Celtic: Tignyemb, Lingwati, Sam, Mahashe, Baloyi, Maema, Mabena, Mashikinya, Dlamini, Masuku & De Jongh. 

Subs: Chaine, Letsoalo, Kobedi, Tani, Mabasa, Maloisane, Motshegwa.

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.