0 - 1
Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
12/04/2019 20:00

Related News

Related Club News

Absa Premiership match report Chippa United v Bidvest Wits 12 April 2019

Posted: 12 April 2019 Time: 18:25

Bidvest Wits maintained their title push after a 1-0 win over Chippa United in Port Elizabeth on Friday evening.

Lehlohonolo Nonyane, Deon Hotto, Elias Pelembe and Lehlohonolo Majoro earned re-calls to the Clever Boys line-up, while Chippa remained unchanged.

Wits closed in for the opener as early the 15th minute when Mbongeni Mzimela pushed Thulani Hlatshwayo’s header onto the woodwork.

Immediately after that, Thabo Rakhale forced Wits shot-stopper Ricardo Goss to go down and make a save after a low shot from a straight run down the middle.

Right before halftime, both sides continued pushing for the breakthrough but a combination of poor finishing and mistimed possession in the last third was their undoing.

The tightly-contested nature from the two sides ventured well into the second half, with Rhulani Manzini’s free-kick forcing Goss into a save earlier on.

The Chilli Boys missed a glorious opportunity on 57 minutes after Mark Mayambela played in Rakhale, who missed the bottom corner by a whisker.

Both sides made changes on 61 minutes, with Wits taking off Majoro for Fagrie Lakay, whilst the Chilli Boys reeled in Tercious Malepe and Lerato Manzini in a double format.

The away side broke the ice on 75 minutes after Hotto got ahead of the last defender to head home Pelembe’s delivery.

Chippa came close to drawing level when Ruzaigh Gamildien’s free-kick forced a finger-tip save from Goss at the near post in the final minutes.

Gavin Hunt’s were able to see off a late surge from the Chilli Boys to claim three points, while the hosts did nothing to ease their relegation fears.


Chippa: Mzimela, Macheke, Nsabiyumva, Shitolo, Tlolane, Lentjies, Komane, Rakhale, Mayambela, Mbenyane, R.Manzini.

Subs: Mothwa, Twala, Makobela, Manzini, Gamildien, Malepe, Malama.

Wits: Goss, Hlatshwayo, Mkhwanazi, Nonyane, Hlanti, Monare, Alexander, Dzvukamanja, Hotto, Pelembe, Majoro.

Subs: Keet, Mere, Mhango, Scott, Domingo, Murray, Lakay.

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of KickOff.com. Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to editor@kickoff.com.