Related News

Related Club News

2017/2018 Premier Soccer League Awards

Posted: 29 May 2018 Time: 21:31

Mamelodi Sundowns attacker Percy Tau claimed the top individual honours at the Premier Soccer League awards ceremony on Tuesday evening.

The Sundowns forward, who finished as joint-top scorer in the Absa Premiership, was named Footballer of the Season and Players' Player of the Season.

The Brazilians' tactician Pitso Mosimane also picked up an accolade as he was named Absa Premiership Coach of the Season, beating Orlando Pirates' Milutin Sredojevic and Maritzburg United's Fadlu Davids to the honour.

Maritzburg United missed out on the Nedbank Cup title, but Lebogang Maboe was named Player of the Tournament and Most Promising Player.

The awards did not stop there for the Team of Choice as Siphesihle Ndlovu was named Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season and Young Player of the Season.

SuperSport United goalkeeper Ronwen Williams earned the MTN8 Last Man Standing award, while former Bidvest Wits striker Amr Gamal was named Telkom Knockout Player of the Season.

All the award winners:

Goalkeeper of the Season: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Defender of the Season: Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United)

Midfielder of the Season: Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)

Young Player of Season: Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)

Goal of the Season: Siphelele Magubane (Lamontville Golden Arrows)

Absa Premiership Top Scorers: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Player’s Player of the Season: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Footballer of the Season: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Assistant Referee of the Season: Zakhele Siwela

Referee of the Season: Victor Gomes

MultiChoice Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player: Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United)

MTN8 Last Man Standing: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

National First Division Top Goalscorers: Mwape Musonda (Black Leopards) and Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Amr Gamal (Bidvest Wits)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Most Precious Find: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows)

Article by: Staff Reporter
Terms of use:

The comments posted do not reflect the views of Users are reminded that no misuse of this comment facility will be tolerated. Any abusive, racist, inflammatory, defamatory, discriminatory comments or hate speech will be deleted and the user banned.

If legally obliged we will hand over your information under the Protection of Information Act.

Please report abusive posts to