Bidvest Wits

Match Centre

Next 3 Fixtures Venue
20/01 @ 15:30 vs Polokwane City Peter Mokaba Stadium
23/01 @ 19:30 vs Boyne Tigers Bidvest Stadium
01/02 @ 20:00 vs Maritzburg United Bidvest Stadium
Log Position
Pos Team P W D L +/- Pts
1 Bidvest Wits 17 10 3 4 12 33
2 Orlando Pirates 17 8 7 2 9 31
3 Polokwane City 16 7 5 4 3 26
Top Scorers
  • Simon Murray - 6
  • Deon Hotto - 3
  • Gift Motupa - 3
  • Lehlohonolo Majoro - 2
  • Deon Hotto - 6
  • Elias Pelembe - 3
  • Thabang Monare - 2
  • Haashim Domingo - 2
IN from notes
Gift Motupa Chippa United
Vuyo Mere Free transfer
Terrence Dzvukamanja Ngezi Platinum
Lehlohonolo Nonyane Free transfer
Simon Murray Hibernian
OUT to notes
Sifiso Myeni Released
Phumlani Ntshangase SuperSport United
Anthony Gordinho Royal Eagles
Buyani Sali Chippa United
James Keene SuperSport United
Full Transfer List

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Nickname: The Clever Boys

Formed: 1921

Physical address: Sturrock Park, Raikes Road, Braamfontein

Home ground: Bidvest Stadium, Johannesburg

Tel: (011) 339 1112



Twitter: @bidvestwits

Most starts: Peter Gordon (415)

Most goals: Peter Gordon (55)

Most capped player: Charles Yohane (Zimbabwe)

Most starts in a season: Andy Geddes 46 (1986)

Most goals in a season: Frank McGrellis 29 (1985)

Record victory: 14-0 vs Cardiff City (16/9/86, Mainstay Cup)

Record defeat: 6-1 vs Kaizer Chiefs (14/10/90, NSL)

Absa Premiership winners: 2017

MTN8 winners: 2016

Nedbank Cup winners: 2010

Mainstay Cup winners: 1978

BP Top 8 winners: 1984, 1985

JPS Knockout Cup winners: 1985

BP Top 8 winners: 1995

Coca-Cola Cup winners: 1995

National First Division champions: 2005/06


Positions are recorded at the end of the day when a match was played. Subsequent matches in the league may have caused the current position to change.

To see which club was played against, hover over the position marker on the chart.

Bidvest Wits - First Team Squad


Brighton Mhlongo
Squad Number: 1
Nationality: South Africa
Darren Keet
Squad Number: 1
Nationality: South Africa


Robyn Johannes
Squad Number: 6
Nationality: South Africa
Edwin Gyimah
Squad Number: 25
Nationality: Ghana
Lehlohonolo Nonyane
Squad Number: 4
Nationality: South Africa
Sifiso Hlanti
Squad Number: 13
Nationality: South Africa
Buhle Mkhwanazi
Squad Number: 15
Nationality: South Africa
Keegan Ritchie
Squad Number: 27
Nationality: South Africa
Reeve Frosler
Squad Number: 33
Nationality: South Africa
Thulani Hlatshwayo
Squad Number: 3
Nationality: South Africa
Denis Weidlich
Squad Number: 5
Nationality: Germany


Gift Motupa
Squad Number: 24
Nationality: South Africa
Vuyo Mere
Squad Number: 2
Nationality: South Africa
Deon Hotto
Squad Number: 11
Nationality: Namibia
Terrence Dzvukamanja
Squad Number: 37
Nationality: Zimbabwe
Granwald Scott
Squad Number: 12
Nationality: South Africa
Bantu Mzwakali
Squad Number: 19
Nationality: South Africa
Haashim Domingo
Squad Number: 21
Nationality: South Africa
Mxolisi Macuphu
Squad Number: 28
Nationality: South Africa
Abednego Mosiatlhaga
Squad Number: 0
Nationality: South Africa
Cole Alexander
Squad Number: 17
Nationality: South Africa
Thabang Monare
Squad Number: 8
Nationality: South Africa
Elias Pelembe
Squad Number: 7
Nationality: Mozambique
Gerald Phiri Jnr
Squad Number: 35
Nationality: Malawi
Daylon Claasen
Squad Number: 14
Nationality: South Africa


Lehlohonolo Majoro
Squad Number: 45
Nationality: South Africa
Simon Murray
Squad Number: 9
Nationality: United Kingdom
Kobamelo Kodisang
Squad Number: 18
Nationality: South Africa
Gabadinho Mhango
Squad Number: 10
Nationality: Malawi
Thobani Mncwango
Squad Number: 27
Nationality: South Africa